Comic Page

COMIC1

Figure and Motion, Comic Page, 17″ x 22″, Photoshop, Illustrator, Bristol Board, Graphite

As you can see my comic page went through many phases to get to it’s final stage with many drawings, ideas, layouts, colors and more. But through all of this I learned a lot about comics and the canons of cultures and the human form.

This project would have been impossible without reading Understanding Comics, by Scott McCloud; reading this book really helped me understand what the placement of panels, colors, shapes and all other aspect of comics meant. The placement of panels in my piece was meant to go along with the story and to make it look good. I made the layout with all enclosed boxes because all of my images contained backgrounds that I would have liked to keep there as I feel it adds to the panel. I also added bigger spaces and smaller spaces in-between some of the panels to show the amount of time in-between the panels-for example on the third row of panels there is a great amount of time in-between where the figure runs away and the community built. To make the comic flow I used a similar color in each row, which is the blue sky in each row but also the gray in the mountains and rocks connect the panels. I used geometric and organic lines in my piece together, although there is more organic lines, to give a since of real life were you see multiple organic and geometric lines in everyday life.

To successfully create a comic page from a different culture you must research the culture to almost mimic their art. The culture my comic was in was the Native American People of Wisconsin, which had very minimal art on the internet, but I found an image that contained little flat color but had a mixture of dark and light color in it to give a gritty texture, as I recreated in my images in the sky, water, and fire as the image contained. Although the human form is not in the comic very much, the body of the figure would have been impossible to draw without knowing the human figure prior.

I have outlines on almost everything in my comic except for some of the landscape on the first panel to create a comic book feel. The lack of outlines on the first panel was a personal choice because I felt it hurt the landscape rather than help it. On the first panel I also made the landscape turn to white as another preference, I could have put the words onto of the landscape or made their own box but I felt that the gradient helps connect the words to the image.

This project is all about my Figure and Motion class; all semester we have learned about body figures, how humans move, color, and canons and this project connects everything together to create a beautiful final project. Overall this connects to the Digital Media and Animation program at Alfred State College as it is the first step in a digital creation that people would see. This project was unlike anything I have made before and helped me practice on my computer but also on thinking in a different mindset than my own because I wanted to like the Native Peoples of Wisconsin’s art style in my piece.

Creation Story:

Dorothy Moulding Brown, 1947, Indian Fireside Tales: Madison, Wisconsin Folklore Society, 7 p.
Harry H. Anderson, ed., 1992, Myths and Legends of Wisconsin Indians, Milwaukee History, vol. 15, no. 1, p. 2-36. (as available at http://192.206.48.3/wirp/ICW- 137.html)

This entry was posted in Non-Time Based and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

